Feathered Pen – February 28, 2024

RECORD NUMBER OF SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED FOR 2024 COE

The Midwest Poultry Consortium awarded 36 scholarships for the 2024 COE class, which is a five year high for scholarship awards and tied for second highest awards in MPC's history.

In January, MPC staff convened its Scholarship Award Committee which offered COE scholarships to fortunate students eager to immerse themselves in an intensive six-week curriculum of poultry science education. While awarding scholarships tends to be a difficult process as applications outnumber available scholarships, MPC staff and representatives from MPC member universities, awarded scholarships to highly-motivated students who are excited to begin their journey within the poultry industry.

2024 COE classes begin on May 13 and conclude on June 21. As part of their scholarship award, students are also placed in summer internships at the conclusion of COE courses. Internships are hosted by MPC sponsor companies and allow students to apply and build upon the skills they've learned during their time in the classroom.

This summer, COE will be held on the campus of the University of Minnesota. The COE alternates annually between the University of Minnesota and Iowa State University.

Interested in hosting a COE student for a 6-10 week internship? If so, please contact MPC at mpc@mwpoultry.org. COE internships are paid and, in many cases, housing is also provided by the internship host.

2024 COE Scholarship recipients include:

Summer Session I:

- Codi Andrews, Ohio State University
- Emma Bauer, University of Missouri
- Jenna Boewe, Purdue University
- Molly Brown, Kansas State University
- Revin Bruck, South Dakota State University
- Chiara Cutts, North Dakota State University
- Tirah Daniels, Kansas State University
- · Belma Frlj, University of Minnesota
- Ivana Hernandez Garbati, University of Florida
- Marlen Lopez, Iowa State University
- Elizabeth Lott, Ohio State University
- Megan MacArthur, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
- Elery Martin, Iowa State University
- Whitney Martin, Ohio State University
- Calvin Moioffer, Iowa State University
- Kaitlyn Mossett, Purdue University
- Maggie Rinner, Iowa State University
- Brianne Ruiz, University of Nebraska
- Genevieve Stickelmaier, University of Illinois
- Elizabeth Yang, University of Minnesota

Summer Session II

- Kelcey Bishop, University of Florida
- Kaden de Jong, University of Missouri
- Carissa Gerwig, Iowa State University
- Boston Gilpin, Iowa State University
- Wyatt Halvorson, University of Minnesota
- Natalie Hunt, Iowa State University
- Aulona Lamaj, Iowa State University
- Sumaya Luger, University of Minnesota
- Allison Matzek, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
- Shayna Morris, Purdue University
- Madison Morrow, Ohio State University
- Joshua Mumm, University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Allyson Sampson, University of Missouri
- Hannah Shaw, Purdue University
- Brooke Sorah, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
- Kaylie Williams, University of Wisconsin-Madison